Southern Hospitality

Friday, Mar. 01, 2002 ~ 10:55 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

The neat thing about being brown and coming to a small town in the South is that you're officially made the spokesperson for your entire race by curious "educated" white girls. Today I met Tricia. Or rather, today Tricia met me. The first thing that she said to me was, "So how do you feel about BET?" She then proceeded to bounce her ideas about how BET was discriminatory and separatist and that it was, in her mind, an example of reverse racism and was counteractive in America's struggle towards unity. She was blonde, God-fearing, and upper middle class, and (god bless her!) she probably considered herself liberal. After our rousing discussion on the socio-economic aspect of the American television she launched into her views on homo-sexuality. She was glaringly a hetero-phile but she did not consider herself to be homophobic. She presented me with some novel ideas about how all humans were genetic mutations and that we all had place on "the spectrum" and therefore homosexuals should not raise straight children. Because heterosexuals and homosexuals are on opposite ends of the spectrum and that it would best serve mankind not to confuse the two.

Tricia is my favourite kind of bigot. The up front kind. I love to see my enemies coming.

Other than that, it was a pretty uneventful day. Oh! but I did climb a big hill (in search of civilization) and this is what I came down with:

Rolling sweet
the ground bleeds
butterflies into birth.
This morning finds me
wrapped up and dull still,
as sun light
they beat the air
that cocoons around them
into honey-sweet submission.
Oh, I cannot wait to get my wings.

Tomorrow morning I begin my 16 hour journey back to Windsor. (clicking my heels together) There's no place like home! There's no place like home!

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings