Football Sunday

Monday, Jan. 20, 2003 ~ 7:22 AM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

I miss my father on football Sundays.

I remember reading the comics on the floor in that spot of sunlight that fell just so from the window behind his chair. He would read the International section and make comments and I would read the punch-lines aloud. He always laughed.

He would say, "This week, my boys are taking it home. This week the game is theirs." And I would tease him about how he said that every week, and almost without fail the Buccaneers would lose. At the end of every losing season he would say, "Next year, my boys are taking it home. The season is theirs."

He had such faith in his team.
Sometimes I think that he had more faith in them than he did in himself. He never believed that anything could stop the Bucs from winning. Yet he himself was always a man defeated. For many years he was my Tampa Bay Buccaneers and I was on the 50 yard line. Next game, next week, next season.

The Bucs won yesterday. It has been nearly five years since I've heard anything from my father. Tomorrow, next week, next year.

His boys came through. Maybe he can too.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings