The Varsity Blues

Monday, Dec. 09, 2002 ~ 7:23 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

I saw Tyler on Saturday at Mobil. In the 8th grade he was one of the p.o.p.u.l.a.r boys. His name was featured on many a binder with a heart drawn around it. He was still popular in high school, where he grew out of gangly and into Abercrombie and deepened voice. We had been friends in the 8th grade, but by sophomore year we ran in different circles. He was always polite and always nodded at me in the halls, Ralph Lauren clean among a sea of TommyGirl admiration.

Until Saturday, I hadn�t seen him since graduation. He looked� �like it had been a long four years. He was going to work, he said, in Granby. And broke from the hug he initiated so as not to get me dirty. He looked like sawdust and disillusionment. He reached to pick the dust of off my sleeve and asked me how I�d been and told me about who he�d seen. �I am always here,� he said, �So I see everyone.�

And as he opened the door for me to leave, I wondered how many others from my class were still here in Windsor shaking themselves off.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings