Five Alarm Fire

Thursday, Jul. 18, 2002 ~ 6:56 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

Sirens once I get into Hartford.
The streets were screaming red fire engines and the pedestrians craned their necks to see the flames. Yet amidst the blue and billowing of the sky there wasn�t a trace of smoke.

This afternoon I walk with my head down. Eyes closed to nearly all but the sidewalk. Intent upon getting to the next bus stop without inciting the interest of too many men. And I chide myself for being childish. I have every right to walk in my usual arrow head fashion. Straight back, long stride, eyes focused on the world in front of me. Piercing space. I have every right to exhibit, not obscure whatever it is about me that makes them come calling. But today I am tired. And my head hurts. And I don�t feel like having to insist that my name isn�t �Slim� or �Dreads� or �Baby�.

I have, it seems, the most unfortunate habit of running into people. And I ran into the Firestarter.
I could tell that her gal pals were straight and I assume that she was too. Yet, even if she weren�t, I in my black jazz pants, black cling-y tank top, sneakers, and crazy hair� I was an ugly duckling compared to the swan of her smooth skin, dark flawless hair, inviting mouth, en pointe ensemble and matching Prada bag and shoe combination.

But that did not stop me from burning.
And I realized that there was no trace of smoke in the sky because all of the cinders in the city were lit in me. Our shoulders b.a.r.e.l.y brushed as I amended my course at the last second and I was scorched to the core. And I stood, a pile of ashes, while the engines sped red-ly by to fight the smaller five alarm fires they could see.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings