The Cards Never Lie

Sunday, Jun. 16, 2002 ~ 3:50 AM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

I think, that I will have to accept the fact that I am destined to be the bachelorette of the bunch.

Today on our way to see Katie, AndreaGamble and I stopped by the liquor store. As I was heading to the cash register to purchase tonight�s poison of choice (bytheby. Tequiza is B.A.D.) I saw a deck of nude-y cards. So I bought them. Upon arriving at Katie�s I proceeded to go through the deck, card by card, to get a better idea of what I�d purchased. I like to think of myself as a very conscientious consumer� and I wanted to make sure that I�d gotten my money�s worth.

Out of the 54 cards in the package I liked one.
AndreaGamble who is straightest of the bunch found two, and Katie� found four that she liked with no trouble. It took me a long while just to find the one.
But in my defense, she is amazing. and quite worth the search.

Katie and AndreaGamble impressed upon me that perhaps. just perhaps. my standards were a bit high. And that perhaps. just perhaps. I might have to be a bit more accommodating in selecting a date (or mate). And that perhaps, just.perhaps. my stand-offish and unapproachable demeanor are off-putting to would be wooers.

Perhaps. JustPerhaps. they are right. But I like to think that one card out of 54, is still one card. And I like to think that knowing what you want is � the battle.

~~

And tonight we were talking under the stars. Of all of the things of highschool and our petty little wars. Of first loves and kisses and scandals and whatwasthenameofthatgirlthattime?.

And Peri Mason� if only I had known back then why I was so drawn to her. We sat there and I looked up through the clouds to the stars and thought of her hair and that one time in the dark little stairway when she let me sing with her. I remember how I couldn�t quite make out her face until she started singing, and the her voice echoed off of the walls bouncing light everywhere and collecting in her hair and I thought that she was majik. And that moment was like. kissing. Was like being so close and so soft and I never wanted it to end. To this day, she is the only blonde I have ever loved.

The stars were up there and watching us and I�m sure that they laughed at how old we suddenly thought we were. Yet how young in the face of eternity. The sky was like an orchard. plum purple and lush. and curling voices upward we were running through stuffing the fruits in our mouths already filled with memories sweet and thick. we were dressing the air with laughter and us both old and new.

When it got too cold we headed back inside. purplestained and starry eyed. Reminiscing and forward thinking. And tonight, I think that even summer agreed with us as we laughed, that we are aging well. .

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings