The Politics of Depature

Friday, Jun. 14, 2002 ~ 2:37 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

I am notoriously bad with goodbyes.

Ask Jenny. She knows.

I try to prepare for them by closing off. By shutting down the part that's going to ache the most amidst the absence. Jenny was always more open about her feelings. We would stand in Hartfield and wait for my seat rows to be called to board the plane and I would be all. already gone. And she would be every reason to come back.

She always cried when we hugged goodbye. And I never did. And I never said goodbye, I said, "See you later." Or "I'll call you when I get in." Or, "I love you." But never goodbye. And then I would get on the plane and cry. Each and everytime. I would cry so hard I'd get a headache from the strain. of preparation and execution. I would cry having to leave and the way that I left. I would cry about not being able to properly say goodbye.

July 2 is the day that Verona is leaving. And I've been preparing but I just can't seem to shut myself down fast enough. And there is to be no hugging. No re-assuring words of next time. There is just the ache. And the goodbye.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings