Reading between the lines

Monday, Jun. 03, 2002 ~ 1:30 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

There is a children's book designed to acclimate children with death as a natural part of life. It is the story of a dead bird. The phrase "the bird is dead" was used repeatedly.

In my high school drama class one of our assignments was to choose and read aloud to the class. Emily Woodward (my partner in crime) read to us from "the Bird is Dead." The repetition of the title struck us adolescents as both sinister and amusing as hell at the same time.

I've just found out that Tony is dead.

Tony is dead.
Tony, is dead.
Tony is, dead.
Tony: is dead.
Tony is: dead.
Tony.is.dead.

Nope. No book is going to make this any better.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings