Birds of a feather...

Monday, May. 13, 2002 ~ 7:25 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

Off of the elevators and onto the 11th floor where the legal eagles flock. There are books everywhere. Shelves of them. Green and brown. Red and blue. They are lexiconesque in their stature and the reverence with which everyone treats them. �And these are the books,� they say stretching their arms to the bound pages a wingspan away. And I think to myself, �My, my what a lovely nest.�

From this loft and out of the windows I see a construction site. But really, they are TonkaTrucks, yellow and black and mine to build whatever empire I choose. And I am five and I can move them with my mind. and I do. I bulldoze through the mist. And use a crane to hang my rainbow. I am raising my very own building. One that curves to meet the sun.

~

I have to walk like a duck to keep my feet from slipping. And I have the suddenest of urges to puddle hop. Part of me thinks that the other big kids in their suits,skirts&ties will join in, but I can tell by the way they�re delicately avoiding the puddles in their wing-tipped shoes [the penguins of shoes I think] and their dainty pumps that they won�t.

I watch a parade of umbrellas clumb the steps as I�m waddling down. All black. And legs stick out from underneathe. Only 80 more and we will have ourselves a proper centipede here.

And at the bus stop a beautiful intelligent woman, noticing this week�s reading choice, started talking to me out of the blue about Indigo and other colors. Her earrings aged her six to 7 years my senior and her rings claimed her as someone�s wife.

The rain rolls and crowns onto the ground as we are talking. Around us everything swishes by. The rain drops are lazy today. lingering on everything that they can. it is just May, but already the seem tired. And they are certainly bewildered. And they agree with me when I say, �But why is it so cold?�

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings