Take this job and...

Wednesday, Apr. 24, 2002 ~ 11:51 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

Hell is shopping for work clothes with your mother. Work clothes signifying those that one wears in Corporate America. Corporate America signifying all of the stuffed shirtedness and bureaucracy and 9 to 5 life sucking high rise over air conditioned businesses. Mother signifying the woman that birthed you, whose house you live in until she sells it in October, who thinks that you�d still wear the same things that you wore in High School.

This morning the staffing agency that I�m employed with called me with an assignment in the Investor Relations Department of one of the largest offices in Hartford. The assignment starts tomorrow (and runs through next week). At 8. AM. Pamela� my staffing agency contact said that they �were looking for someone professional� Someone who really has a background in I.R./finance/administration.�
I am 22. I was at the time� wearing my faery-tale mechanic pyjamas� I was deep in thought contemplating the difference between the Smurfs and their underwater cousin spin-off the Snorks(?).

I�ve dealt with many an Investor Relations representative (not to mention PR personnel and the CEOs of some of America�s largest companies) in the past during my stint as a Research Analyst at the Wall Street Reporter and I know that I do not like I.R. I also know that I am not at all professional in that sense. But� I�m an actress� I can Act professional. Plus� I need the money. But I realized today after accepting the assignment that I hadn�t a thing to wear. Which lead me to the all excursion with my mother this evening.

General sighs all around.

I was supposed to have dinner tonight with Alison.. but that was postponed� so now, we�re supposed to have dinner tomorrow� after work. But it�s going to be all cold and rainy and she�s been all sniffly and overworked this week. So she probably won�t want to go.

When I woke up this morning I was all full of� cartoonieness and I got to speak with Miss Kate and now I�m all tired and anti-Capitalist and trying to prepare myself to be dining alone. Bah! I say. Bah!

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings