Obsess Much?!

Monday, Apr. 22, 2002 ~ 1:10 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

I have an obsessive personality.

I am told that Step One of overcoming a problem is to admit that you have one. Well okay then� I am addicted to the internet.

I came upstairs last night after the X-Files to add an entry. I looked at my modem. All signs pointed to go. I turned the computer on. All was well. However I could achieve no connection. I thought that perhaps my modem just needed a rest� so I turned everything off and talked to Drew. When I came back everything once again seemed to be in working in order� but alas no connection. I called my ISP. I spent and hour and a half on the phone with my ISP only to be told that my modem was in critical condition and needed to be replaced immediately. To me� immediately means within 24 hours. To my ISP, immediately means no sooner than May 1st.

I proceeded to go through (Andi-speak) immediate withdrawal symptoms which included a crazed on the verge of tears call to Katie. Who really had bigger fish to fry. I did the only thing that there was left to do. I unplugged everything and went to bed. When I awoke this morning, I did my crunches, brushed my teeth and tried to seduce my modem into action. It seems to have worked for the time being.

~~ ~~

The ring tone on my cell phone is �Summertime.� My cousin Brittany and my sister Devin were playing around with it and asked me how I got Summertime as my ring tone. I said that I�d ordered it from VoiceStream.

Brittany: Why�d you get that old song?
Andi: It�s a classic.
Devin: I know but his newer stuff would make good ring tones.
Andi: His newer stuff?
Brittany: Yeah, you know� Getting� Giggy wit It.
Andi: Wait.
Devin: Yeah. The �na na na na-nana na�s� would be kinda cute.
Andi: No. This is THE Summertime.
Brittany: That�s right. It�s was DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince back then.
Andi: (breaks in Billie�s version of the song)
Devin: Uhm. Okay.
Brittany: What the hell was that?
Andi: (shocked face)
Andi: Are you joking?
Brittany: Are you?
Andi: That�s �Summertime.�
Devin and Brittany: No it�s not.
Andi: Yes. Yes it is. It�s THE Summertime. It�s a classic. A jazz standard. It�s� it�s�

And then I gave up. They had no idea what I was talking about. They though that Billie Holiday was a man. They are will both be attending college next year and will complete a degree program. They are the future of America.

~

Not only am I an obsessive personality, I�m also a masochistic personality.

I have an audition on Saturday. Now, I�m accustomed to this pain. I like it, the high is worth it. But this audition is different. I have no monologue to prepare. I have no play to read. I have no need to expect a cold reading from the text. No. For this audition I have to read two poems. Two poems written by me.

I have hundreds of poems. Very few are good. Out of that very few, there are fewer still that I would voluntarily read aloud. So why am I doing this?
-Ohmygod! and there are all of these poems from high school� I spent nearly all 4 years shoes over hair in love with JoeyCole. He the beginning and the end and the in between. He was, I was convinced, the reason I was breathing. And he didn�t want me. And he broke my heart. And I handed my un-wanted heart to him repeatedly for him to break. And he did. And so I wrote all of these wretched angsty poems. At least a hundred. JoeyCole. I was so pathetic and so the �poetry� reflects that. 1994-1998 wasted.wasted words.-
I can�t say that my words are any less wasted� but a vast majority of them are prettier. But still: why? I don�t know. Because auditioning is what I do. Because along with an actress, I occasionally like to pretend that I am an artist, and stretching oneself as an artist is what artists do. This audition is my own little attempt at stretching. Like yoga auditioning.

~

�Fly me to the moon.
Let me play among the stars.
Let me see what Spring is like
on Jupiter and Mars.�

I am a lucid dreamer. My dreams are even on their own schedules. Once the weather warms I have flying dreams. Actually� I don�t have dreams in which I fly until the summer. But as it is Spring and the weather is warmening [not even nearly a word!] I am having leaping dreams. The one I had the other not gave me super ballerina powers. I could ballon for miles. I literally grand jete-d my way through town pas de chat-ing over the tree tops. Oh! only a few more degrees/months until my flying dreams!

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings