How Much Wood?

Friday, Apr. 12, 2002 ~ 9:55 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

(sniffles) Today was almost completely a waste.
Actually, let�s start today with yesterday and my mother�s message on my cell.
�Honey, there�s an open call for models somewhere in Hartford on Friday at sometime in the afternoon. You should go.�
My initial response was, �Why would I go to a model call if I don�t want to be a model or a modelslashactress especially when I don�t know when or where the call is.�
�Because, honey, I was thinking of you and everyone has to start somewhere. This could be your big break.�
�But you don�t know the specifics?�
�No.�
�Fine. Thank you, Mom, for calling me at work to tell me this, I�m hanging up now.�

So I call Jenny and she says that I should go so I plan to find information about it as soon as I get home.

I worked yesterday from 11 until 7. My brother Bernard says to me, as he dropped me off in the morning, �I�ll be here at 7. Be ready.� I was ready at 6:55. Bernard picked me up at 8:15. Grrr and &^#$!. I got home and searched for the casting call. No luck. I watched a little TV.

Andi is a night person. Andi has a very hard time dragging herself to bed before midnight. Today, I had to leave for work at 5:55 AM. Last night (or rather, this morning at 1:30) I set my alarm for 5 AM so that I could (blushes) finish painting my nails before work. My alarm did not go off. I awoke at 5:45 AM. I could only hear out of one ear. I raced to the bus (luckily right outside of my house) in my flip-flops� boots in hand clogged ear throwing me off balance, nails in complete shambles. I was pretty much partially deaf for the entire day. Not to mention the fact that the Expo was in full swing and the woodworking machines were very loud. I thought about making a badge for myself that said: SPEAK INTO MY GOOD EAR. Instead I made one that said, �BEN DOVER, Biatch, USA� for the CEO of some laminating company.

Work wasn�t that bad. I met a lot of people. Never in my life have I so wanted a bear belly, a red-neck, a mullet, and a Carolinian accent, as I have today. I mean, I simply didn�t fit in. And the red pants weren�t helping. But I felt cute (and deaf) and cute does pay off. Yesterday some CEO asked me (and the faeries) if there was anything that I wanted (for helping him make a lot of badge changes) and I said that I found cookies to be a very valid form of payment. This morning he brought me a box of Oreos.

I got off work today at one� I thought that I had a lunch date, but signals got crossed and that didn�t work out so I traipsed around Hartford in search of the modeling thing. It was at the Hilton at 5:45 PM. I discovered this at 1:30, the height of my deafness and the onset of my sore-throat and sniffles. Needless to say, I blew my big break because I just wanted to go home and hide under my covers. I bought my champagne for tomorrow and Sunday night and boarded a bus home. Only to find that the bus that I really wanted, I�d just missed, and I had to walk to 2 miles from the bus stop to my house.

But I made it home. Still deaf� but with champers in my bag and Shiraz in my fridge, and my bed awaiting. I even made it home in time for General Hospital!

So I�ve just woken from my nap, and taken a shower and taken the wine out to breathe and! I can hear again, but my ear feels funny. I do have to leave for work tomorrow at 7 AM, so I can�t pop the bubbly.

<~Boy, this was a rather dull entry. I�m sorry. Woodworking conventions are not the den of Bacchus as I�d imagined them to be. Who knew?

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings