That's Miss Under-roo to You!

Thursday, Apr. 11, 2002 ~ 12:14 AM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

And I�m sure that you�re just as excited as I am that there isn�t any saw-dust in my hair.
Today was my first day as Registration Computer Operator which I quickly found out was just the glorified name for badge printer. But I was the best damned badge printer that I could be. Actually, it wasn�t that hard seeing as how the Expo actually starts tomorrow and today was basically grunt work day.

Yup, today was the day of carpenters (and other manly men types) wearing Harley Davidson t-shirts, driving forklifts, mini cranes, and hydraulic powered scaffolding� It was a day of North Carolinian, Texan, Kentuckian, and Georgian accents� some of them peppered with snuff. It was a day� of Barry Manilow and the Light 100 station. Yes. I would have expected Lynard Skynard, or Alabama, or even some Metallica� but apparently old Barry is very big with the burly biker builder men who piece together this convention. Color me surprised. As God as my witness I will never make generalizations about the musical tastes of Southern hammer and drill wielding bikers again.

I was called ma�am today. A number of times. Despite the fact that I was the pretty young thing (because I was the ONLY young thing� there will be a lot more workers and exhibitors tomorrow) I was still called ma�am. It amuses me because I know they�re being polite and they�re trying not to step on my �liberated woman of the new millennium� toes by calling me �Miss� but I can see them actually processing ma�am in their heads before they say it. I do not actually mind miss. I am a miss. But it�s really in the way that it�s said, I think. Many people muddle the proper inflection of miss making it sound� patronizing(?) Miss vs. Ma�am� hmmm� perhaps tomorrow I will just wear the badge that I made for myself and maybe they�ll just call me �Andrea.�

Today was slooow so there was a lot of talking between myself, DeAnne (my only other coworker for the day), and Ed (our supervisor). Sometimes I feel as if the most homophobic people seek me out to spread their message of disdain and disgust. DeAnne went through the whole �gay people will burn in hell forever and ever and it�s the greatest sin again God� spiel while Ed politely implied that homosexuality/eroticism was a chemical imbalance. �You know, like depression or schizophrenia.� DeAnne told me of all of the tale-tell signs for spotting a lesbian and Ed pointed out that most of the gay people that he�d ever encountered had experience some great trauma in their lives.

I calmly replied that if she was so into the Bible, DeAnne should remember that her God is one of love, so she shouldn�t be so quick to condemn those who�d found love and I just let Ed know that he was absolutely right that homosexuals had experienced some great trauma: un-acceptance; and kept the rest of my comments to myself.

Bah! Tomorrow I will probably have to wear a bra to work. I know that this really means nothing in the great scheme of things� except for the fact that I conveniently lost of mine while shuffling around in the city last year and I�m not sure if I have a proper one here in Windsor. I�ve worn this shirt many a time without a bra� usually out with friends or usually in warmer temperatures. However, tomorrow will find me greeting a great deal of people, mostly men, and I�d really prefer that my mouth be the only thing smiling at them in the cold expo hall. But then again� as long as I�m comfortable� I guess I�ll wait and see how the faeries feel in the morning.

And! I bought under-roos Monday. SuperMan. A little blue tee with the Superman logo and little red boys� briefs with yellow trimming. They�re soo cute! I don�t care what Katie and Sadie think. Under-roos can most definitely be sexy.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings