A Penny for your Thoughts

Friday, Mar. 29, 2002 ~ 9:10 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

Lovely Kate called me today for a trans-Atlantic �Hello.� How sweet is she? This (stretches arms as wide as they go) sweet.

It turns out that Andrea Gamble is not un-flappable. Strip clubs flap Andrea. She has flat out refused to take me for my birthday. (pouts) She did not see the potential humor of the situation. The �but it�s my birthday� defense was completely wasted upon her. Part of me is pleased to have found the one thing (in 5 years) that rattles her� most of me is dis-pleased that it�s what I want to do.

~~

I have 28 dollars 50 cents in coins on my dresser. The coins are wrapped in color coded brown paper and are standing upright like little soldiers. My hands still smell faintly of copper from the pennies.

I miss my Grandfather. He always saved his coins in big jars. I used to love the Sundays when, after church, he would tips the jars over and the coins will spill out into the sun lit rug. Those jars were filled with the jingling from the pockets of his work pants. I would marvel at how heavy the jars were. I thought that my Grandfather was (aside from my father) the strongest man in the world, the way he effortlessly upturned those jars.

What I remember the most of my Grandfather are his hands. I used to place my small chocolate coloured ones in his and he would make a fist and completely enclose mine. What I loved the most about his hands were his fingers. They were long and caramel coloured. I loved to watch as he scooped the coins up and stacked them into the brown wrappers. He would balance the pennies on the tips of his fingers and name them for me. He loved copper so the pennies were his favourite. He balanced those pennies just so and would tell me that even the brightest ones had nothing on me.

He was a beautiful man. He made me feel like a beautiful girl.

My hands smell faintly of shiny bright memories. I miss my Grandfather.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings