It WAS a Happy Thursday (and Friday)!

Friday, Feb. 15, 2002 ~ 11:42 PM

<< >>

I just wanna show you the way that I feel.

And I'm back.

I must admit that I wasn't exactly thrilled about going into the city Thursday. Somehow the idea of buying toys that I wasn't going to get to play with (and on Valentine's Day no less) didn't leave me jumping for joy. Ah, but once I got there... I love New York City. There's something oddly comforting to me about the incessant business and I love the rhythm that hums under NYers insistant to and fro. I makes me feel alive. I makes me feel beautiful.

I like that I can be as anonymous as I want. I've heard people say that New Yorkers are rude... that simply isn't true. NYers are busy. They don't have the time to pay enough attention to you to be rude. The are self centered, and brisk, impersonal even... but rarely rude. And that's why I love the city. If I want to bitch out, I can; it's expected. And if I want to be as sweet as pie and say all of my please's and thank you's and make someone's day; I can. I love how far a smile can get a girl in the city. I love the phrase, "For you, I make a deal," even if it's been said to countless other ladies. NYC is the best place to people watch. Just plop yourself down and you can see it all. I mean how many times are you guaranteed prime theatre and prime theatre seating for scot free? Hell, if you're up to it, you can actually be in the theatre. In NYC everybody's a star of their very own show.

And so:
Chalked sidewalk hearts smile beneathe my feet as lovers on the subway share the secret bliss of kisses.
Calle Casanovas call: "Say, haven't I seen you somewhere before?" "No sir. Not even in your wildest dreams."
Cabs race each other and blur between the lights on the Bowery @ 1:30 AM, it is Valentine's Day after all. Hurry hurry home!
McDonald's Happy Meals are for big girls too. In line shy bright eyes smile at mine, "Mommy, she's pretty." I blush.
"Baby?" "Yes, baby..." "Awh, nothing."
Extra foamy chai lattes make excellent hand warmers.
Little dogs walking big men make me laugh. I guess even dogs need pets.
"I miss you baby, even the sun reminds me of you. I hate playing phone tag."
Empire State Building blushing like so many paper Valentines crumpling in kindergarten pockets... the cooties put on hold for the day.
"I need a drink." "I need a kiss."
Drumming in the subways in synch with the humming of coming trains.
Today she stopped traffic with a smile: My god she's beautiful!
The Village Voice/the village idiot... the Village.
Smiles like sticky chocolate mess after the sweetest of kisses.
Everyone shining like new pennies.
An American Beauty Astor Place is today.

~~~

So She is off. Off to Miami on Her mini-vacation. Today we had lunch and I kept Her company while She was at the salon getting her highlights re-done. I am enraptured with Her hair. She never wears it down. She says that it makes Her feel uncomfortable but I have to tell you that when She wears her hair down, She's more breathtaking than usual. Today after all of the fuss and nervousness in the salon She emerged and I think that my heart stopped. I wanted to touch Her so badly that I was paralyzed. When we said goodbye today in the subway I was reeling when She left me and I always want more.

Today when I got home there was a Valentine waiting for me. From Her. I've never received a real Valentine before and because of our agreement I certainly didn't expect one but she sent me this beautiful card and I just sat on my bed reading it and getting all teary eyed. ["Crush me with the things you do. And I'd do for you anything too! ...Lovely lady, I am at you feet! Oh God! I want you so badly! ...Lying under this spell you've cast on me each moment the more I love you."] I don't think that she has an idea what this means to me. I don't think that I can articulate it to her. All that I can do is smile. Smile and wait for Her to get back.

Sigh (but a happy one). You know, this might quite possible be the best Valentine's Day I've ever not celebrated.

.
.
.
.

Right Foot In < < < < < < < < < > > > > > > > > > Right Foot Out

Now Shake it all about!

Last 5 Entries

How Rude! - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 12:16 PM

One small step but no giant leap. - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003 - 11:17 AM

Where's George? - Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 - 12:48 PM

Gypsy - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 - 8:44 AM

I'm no Artemis. - Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:19 AM

Recently

Lately

Write Me

Sign Me

What others say

What I Say

D*Land

a Nifty design

Amazon Honor System Enlist now. Fool! Learn More

~~~
LINKS

~~~

~~~
Rings